Sawyer County

Sawyer County
Town of Hayward, Sawyer County; Photographer: Nicole Lester
County Seat: Hayward

10610 Main St.

City: Hayward
Zip: 54843
Phone: 715-634-4866
Land Area: 1,256.5 sq. miles
Elevation: 1,198 ft. at Hayward; 1,801 ft. at Meteor Hill
Number of Lakes: 496
Area in Lakes: 56,183 acres (87.79 sq. miles)
Rivers: Brunet, Chippewa, Couderay, Flambeau, Little Thornapple, Moose, Namekagon, Thornapple, Totagatic
Major Watershed: Chippewa River, St. Croix River (Northwest corner)
Geographical Province: Northern Highland; Far West: Central Plain

Mostly maple, hemlock and yellow birch. North Central and Northeast: Areas of white and red pine. Northwest Corner: Conifer swamp. Northwest: Thin strip of jack pine and prairie grasses.


1930: 8,878
1970: 9,670
1980: 12,843
1990: 14,181
2000: 16,196
2010: 16,557
2020: 18,074

WCA District: Northwest

County veteran services officers from across the state share how the federal PACT Act is impacting their work in the June 2024 Wisconsin Counties (page 20). @NACoTweets

Stay Connected