Governor Announces Additional $28.9 Million in Mental Health Funding at WCA Legislative Exchange

Partnership with State and Counties Stressed in Walker's Comments

Giving a glimpse of what will be in his 2013-2015 Biennial State Budget, Governor Scott Walker announced this morning at the Wisconsin Counties Association's (WCA) Legislative Exchange in Madison an increase of $28.9 million in mental health funding.
“These are dollars that will greatly impact the delivery of mental health services in our counties,” said WCA Executive Director Mark D. O'Connell. “We are grateful to the Governor for recognizing the partnership between the state and counties in providing these critical services to our citizens and look forward to being able to meet the mental health needs of those in our communities.”
The mental health funding includes an additional $3.7 million in Coordinated Service Teams (CST) and an additional $10.2 million GPR in Comprehensive Community Services (CCS) that will go directly to counties.  The governor also included $1.3 million in new funding for peer run respite centers, $535,400 in new funding to create an Office of Children's Mental Health, $524,000 additional GPR for in-home counseling for children and $12.5 million GPR in new funding for additional forensic mental health units at Mendota Mental Health Institute.
Speaking with the media after the announcement, Governor Walker said, “Counties are our partners in providing services and this was certainly the right place to announce these additional funds.”
Walker also announced that his budget would contain additional state support for maintenance of county and state highways, which has been a major priority for the Wisconsin Counties Association. The governor said those details would be revealed during his budget address on February 20, 2013 in Madison.
Close to 180 county officials are attending the 2013 WCA Legislative Exchange February 5-6, 2013, held at the Madison Concourse Hotel.


Enjoy the article so far? Recommend it to your friends and peers.

Wisconsin Counties Association  
Copyright © 2016